Divine Servant Fountain Induction of Freshman Students

10 Sep

PR Connection 4333

This past Tuesday, September 7, 2010 Southeastern University had the official induction of the freshman students at the centralized Divine Servant Fountain. This fountain is more commonly known as the “Jesus Fountain” by the returning students because it is a statue of Jesus washing Peter’s feet.

In the beginning, all freshman students were ushered into Bush Chapel for the live chapel service and the returning students were directed to the SAC (Student Activities Center) to view the chapel service via video. The chapel speaker that morning to spark vision and direction into the lives of Southeastern students was the Senior Pastor of a local church here in Lakeland.

After his sermon was finished, the freshman students and returning students all met at the Divine Servant Fountain. The freshman students stood in the middle of the lawn as the returning students gathered around them in a horseshoe manner to pray over the freshman.

I really think this was a great idea to have the returning students pray over the incoming students. However, it would be such a great thing if this could have been done as the parents of these new freshman were there as well to see it. Plus, I thought that when then students were out on the grass part of the Divine Servant Fountain for the induction, the actual induction ceremony was less then 10 minutes. I guess in my mind I thought that the majority of chapel would have been out there on the lawn.

I am not saying I did not like the event. I think it is a wonderful idea and I am so happy that as a university we do welcome in the new students. It is an opportunity to link them together. There are always things that could have been better, but that is why after an event happens you can reflect upon it and improve it for the next time. All I would like to say is “Welcome New Students!”

One Response to “Divine Servant Fountain Induction of Freshman Students”

  1. hope October 5, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Cool! I wasn’t aware that Southeastern did this type of service. I enjoy when people write about the good AND bad of an event- just keeps an un-biased opinion 🙂 Sounds like it was impactful- thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment