Cleaning Up Grammar

11 Sep

Week Four TOW 4333

Last week, you took the NewsU Cleaning Your Copy course. There were four main topics in this course: Grammar, AP Style, Punctuation and Spelling. Using the three-pronged approach described at the top of this post, describe your reactions to this course.

1. Learned: The part that I learned so much about was picking the right word for the sentence when it comes to “who/whom,” “that/which,” and “that/who.” They each have their own rules to them, but if anything this has been very imperative to learn all over again especially when writing. I also learned that verbs have their own little quirks. They give the example with “peanut butter and jelly” where one time they use the singular verb and another time they use the plural verb. It depends on the context in which it is being used.

2. Surprised: The part that surprised me the most was all the abbreviations. Specifically, the abbreviations with addresses. Plus, I was surprised to know that if something is less then the number 10 it is number word is written out. If it is over 10 then you would not write the number word out, but use just the number. Ex. 15 not fifteen. Lastly, the element of grammar that surprised me was the fact that English rules change sometimes as they update them. The rules are basically the same but there are little things that change.

3. Know more about: I would like to learn more about not only the money style of writing. I think there just comes a point when you have to memorize how to write out money and money amount as well. In the meantime, I have to look them up until I memorize them. The english language has so much exceptions to the rules that even someone like me whose first language is English has a hard time with it. Some of my friends who speak English as their second language feel the same way.

2 Responses to “Cleaning Up Grammar”

  1. afurmage October 1, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    I am so glad we were able to take the Cleaning Your Copy course on NewsU. I always thought I was pretty comfortable with grammar, but the course showed me that there are a lot of things I need to work on. AP Style is so picky, especially when English is such a confusing language to begin with. It makes me laugh that we have to use “barbecue” instead of “barbeque” or “BBQ.” I really don’t see what the big deal is, but I guess it helps with consistency. I had most trouble with differentiating lay/lie and affect/effect. Even after taking the course, I’m still confused with those terms. I guess some things just don’t come as easy as others. Great post!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Comments! « My Ongoing Journey - October 1, 2010

    […] I commented on “Cleaning Up Grammar” by Elaine […]

Leave a Reply

