Over 2,000 American Flags on the Field

15 Sep

PR Connection 2322

There were over 2,000 American flags outlining the numbers 9/11 on the Southeastern University Intramural field. These flags were placed there by the Young Republican’s Club here on campus to remember the people who died on September 11, 2001.

The members of the Young Republican’s Club placed all 2,000 flags with such precision that when I walked out on the balcony pathway of Destino Hall it was very clear as to what the flags said. It really was a sobering moment of remembrance for me.

I still remember exactly where I was when I first heard the news that the Twin Towers had been struck. I was in seventh grade at the time at my locker on the second floor of my middle school. The home economics teacher came out in the hall telling us to get back to our homeroom classrooms because the Twin Towers had been struck. She further tried to answer all of our curious questions, but a quite rebuke to head to homeroom ended the conversation.

Personally, seeing all those American flags out there on the field made me think of all the people and so many more who on this day remember loved ones they lost. Plus, currently I have a brother in the Marines who could be heading over to Iraq. What if he never comes home again? So many questions go through my mind, but I cannot imagine what those family members must feel on the day that they lost their loved ones.

This memorial display of September 11, 2001 really brings the campus together to not forget the men and women that died for our country and our freedom. No matter what political view a person has these are the times that bring us together. These are the times that put things in perspective. These are the times we remember.

Leave a Reply

