One Week of Twitter

30 Sep

Week Six TOW 2322

Twitter!! I have had a twitter now for almost a year, but I have not had texting on my phone until this past August. As a result, I was not “in the loop” on Twitter as much because I was not able to receive the text updates that you can get on your phone. Currently, I am in the process of syncing my phone with Twitter so that I can receive the Twitter updates on my phone and then leave a post as well.

The only thing that bothers me about Twitter is when I get people’s updates that they are walking to class or other mundane tasks that happen everyday. I understand that maybe that person is tweeting that because they are meeting up with someone, but in that scenario I think that is when you use texting on your phone between you and that person.

I do have to say that I enjoy the part of Twitter where you can find out good ideas from other people of where to go on Friday night because someone will tweet an event. I would not known about the event if they did not tweet it. I guess, Twitter is a way to market things as well whether on purpose or not.

The best part about it is you have to be straight to the point. Really, you have to make your tweets be 140 characters or less. It is the nature of the beast. On other social networking tools, people leave some of the longest posts ever to the point that I think why don’t they just pick up the phone and call that friend rather then write a book on someone’s wall. Or, if a post needs to be that long it probably should be a private message not for the everyone to see. I really enjoyed this one week of Twitter. It was my first time to ever really engage in tweeting and following other people as well.

2 Responses to “One Week of Twitter”

  1. octobern October 1, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    I am in the same exact boat as you. I have had twitter for maybe six months, and I have only recently been getting into it. I think twitter is a great tool for anyone who wants to see what is going on with anything. I can definitely see how this is a useful tool in the public relations profession, since you can see communication instantly. Consumers can send their feedback to a manufacturer to let them know if they like the product or not. You can get a response faster when using twitter then e-mail. I can see this social media site staying around for a long time.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Comments. (COMM 4333 & COMM 2322) « October's Blog - October 1, 2010

    […] One Week of Twitter  by Elaine Bluemling […]

Leave a Reply

