Southwest Airlines

25 Oct

I would like to open this post by saying that Southwest has saved me hundreds of dollars over the past four years. I wish I would have signed up as a frequent flyer because maybe by now I could have enough points to get me a free flight. From traveling back and forth between Fla. and Penn. as a college student, I have been able to learn the art of packing those two bags. But, on Southwest flights those two bags fly free!

Their marketing slogan is “More than a Way to Fly, A Way of Life”. Especially, with the turn of the economy, I would think people would want to be more frugal with their money. On the other hand, if you have to fly somewhere to the west coast, Southwest does not fly to those areas. Recently, they bought out AirTran Airlines.

A great way to learn about all the upcoming events and promotions Southwest Airlines is doing just click here. From giving back to their community to excellent customer care service, all around I have had a great experience with Southwest Airlines. If you have flown with Southwest before, then you may have experienced the upbeat employees and funny jokes the captain will make over the intercom.

Some people specifically do not like to fly Southwest because there are no official seating arrangements. Instead, they call up boarding by letters. Then, you stand next to the corresponding number on those metal columns. However, we all know we will get on the flight and people will generally switch a seat with you, so that a couple can sit next to each other.

Personally, not having assigned seats does not bother me because then I have the chance to possibly have no one next to me and enjoy the extra room. I understand, on the other hand, that you can also end up sitting in a middle seat and all mystery is not so fun anymore. But, if that is your biggest concern, then I would rather pay less money for a flight, have my bags fly free and enjoy the excellent customer care service, then to have an assigned seat.

4 Responses to “Southwest Airlines”

  1. Dave Lapham October 27, 2010 at 12:57 am #

    I love your passion for Southwest Airlines. I personally use Spirit and Airtran because they always seem to be the cheapest to fly with. I think that Southwest Airlines does themselves a huge favor by allowing two bags to go on for free. It is crazy to me that we most airlines will only allow one carry on and a personal bag these days. I remember when I was younger we could pack pretty much whatever we wanted. Of course I only had 5 or 6 tiny outfits and they all fit inside my Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles suit case. I will have to check out the prices of Southwest. Great article.

  2. sammooty October 28, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    This was a great post Elaine! I found this to be very informative. I had no idea that they did two free bags or that they do not have assigned seats. I think this is very neat. They were obviously smart enough to know that their company should be different. Flying has become somewhat of a hassle but obviously they know how to help out their costumers. Personally I have only flown Southwest once or twice but I think I will start looking more into it.

  3. valeriy November 19, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    I fly AirTran a lot mainly because it the only airline that has a straight flight from TPA to ROC and its fairly cheap due AirTran being ‘low fare’. However, Lately AirTrans service has been terrible, I earn a lot of miles and often use my points to upgrade to first class or to even purchase tickets. The benefits are great if one travels a lot with one airline. Yet it seemed like none of the employees cared about anything due to the fact they were being bought out. I was very disappointed with AirTrans service and I hope they improve now that they have been acquired by Southwest. But you are correct, free bags do make a big difference especially for us college students because I cannot afford an extra $50 every time I fly for 2 bags.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Comments Comm 2322 « Sam Mooty Fall 2010 PR Blog - October 28, 2010

    […] I found this article on Elaine Bluemling’s blog. […]

Leave a Reply

